Frank Porter Graham Lecture

American Poverty: The Hidden Story

Featuring Photojournalists Steve Liss & Jon Lowenstein of


Award-winning photo-journalists Steve Liss and Jon Lowenstein are among the founders of, an organization of photojournalists committed to poverty alleviation in the United States. This fall, they come to Chapel Hill to expose poverty in America. The results will shock you.

Steve Liss is the author of No Place for Children: Voices from Juvenile Detention, which received the Robert F. Kennedy Journalism prize and the Pictures of the Year World Understanding Award. He has been a recipient of the Soros Justice Media Fellowship for his work on juvenile justice and the Alicia Patterson Fellowship for his work on domestic poverty. Jon Lowenstein is a 2011 John Simon Memorial Guggenheim Fellow, a 2011 TED Global Fellow, a 2012 Hasselblad Master – Photography, and a 2012 Artist-in-Residence at the Joan S. Kroc School of Peace Studies at the University of San Diego.

Sponsored by Honors Carolina and the James M. Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence, with support from the Office of the Executive Director for the Arts


Previous Speakers

David Simon (2011-2012)
“The End of the American Century and the Triumph of Capital Over Labor”

Nicholas Kristof (2010-2011)
“Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide”

Anna Deavere Smith (2009-2010)
“Finding Grace and Kindness in a Winner-Take-All Society”

John McWhorter (2008-2009)
“History in the Making: What We Know About Poverty and What We Should Forget”

Lord Mark Malloch-Brown (2007-2008)
“Making Private Capital Work for the Poor”

Diane Ravitch (2006-2007)
“The Past and Future of ‘No Child Left Behind’”

Len Morris & Robin Romano (2005-2006)
“Stolen Childhoods”

Hernando de Soto (2004-2005)
“The Mystery of Capital”

The Frank Porter Graham lecture series honors the late U.S. Senator and president of the University of North Carolina, who was a champion of freedom, democracy, and the disadvantaged. The lecture is made possible by the gift of Taylor McMillan ’60, who established the Frank Porter Graham Lecture Series to honor the late University President.